Dr. Hatim Kanaaneh, long-time public health advocate for Palestinian citizens of Israel and author of A Doctor in Galilee: The Life and Struggle of a Palestinian in Israel, found out about my book shortly after it was published and requested a book swap. He sent me a copy of his, and I sent him a copy of mine. He said he would try to review Fast Times in Palestine but warned me it might take a while.

A few short weeks later he wrote to me, “I finished reading your book much earlier than I had expected. The reason should be obvious.” Attached was this review, which so far has been posted on Mondoweiss, on Dr. Hatim’s blog, and at The Palestine Chronicle.

Thanks, Dr. Hatim, for taking the time to read and review a book by a young ajnabiya (foreign) author. I’m pleased to say I enthusiastically recommend his book as well. It’s a devastating indictment of Israel’s treatment of its Palestinian citizens (the ones who live in Israel proper, who are treated better than the ones living under occupation in the West Bank and Gaza, but sadly that’s not saying much). And sprinkled in are so many charming anecdotes about the past and present Galilee, so much gritty realism, an almost photographic sense of time and place, it’s truly a pleasure (and sometimes a horror) to read.

