On the last day of 2010, I created a list of my Top Ten Blog Posts up until that time. Three years later, I think it’s time to do it again. So, here are my favorite blog posts of the past three years.

(Note: this list doesn’t include the excerpts from my book that I’ve posted. For those, go to the book’s Table of Contents. It also doesn’t include the Chapter Companions for my book, which have photos and extra stories to go with each chapter.)

TOP TEN POSTS

    1. Wedding Bells (June 2013)
      Pretty much the most exciting thing to happen to me in the past three years was getting married. Here are some of my favorite pics from the celebration. Minus the tornado sirens going off the night before…

    2. Book Tour Report (May 2013)
      The other most exciting thing was touring with my book — I did nearly 100 events in about 20 states and 3 Canadian provinces. Here’s the report back from the first leg of the tour. Good winds are blowing…

    3. Olives in Salem (Written Fall 2007, posted March 2011)
      Harvesting olives in a village near Nablus.

    4. Olives and Movie Stars (Written Fall 2007, posted December 2013)
      More olive harvesting (in Battir), a hilarious film shoot at Snobar, and other good times in Palestine.

    5. Statehood bid? What statehood bid? (September 2011)
      I visited Palestine in the fall of 2011 to visit friends, do a book tour, and see what the atmosphere was like as Palestinian representatives asked the United Nations to accept them as a member state. Here is what I found.

    6. Grampa Red (February 2012)
      My grandfather passed away in January 2012. This is my tribute to the great man — a world-class wood-carver (self-taught in his 60s), amateur fiddler (self-taught in his 80s), cattle rancher, electrician, plumber, carpenter, post hole digger, fence mender, serial cow dog owner, hay baler, tractor cusser, coffee drinker, biscuits-and-gravy eater, and many other things to many people in his long life.

    7. Turks & Caicos & Irene (September 2011)
      What do you get when you cross a weekend vacation with a hurricane — twice? Not to mention the little adventure with the kayak…

    8. Galapagos Part 1 (October 2010)
      Someone showed me a deal for a $500 ticket to the Enchanted Islands. How could I resist?

    9. Galapagos Part 2 (November 2010)
      Islands and boobies, iguanas and volcanoes, beaches and sharks…

    10. Jon Stewart’s Triple Threat (March 2012)
      Some daring brilliance by the team at the Daily Show about the Israel/Palestine situation

.
PREVIOUS TOP TEN

.
OTHER RECENT FAVORITES

    1. Rawan Yaghi — Gaza’s Searing Voice (March 2012)
      A young woman with incredible writing skills and passion. One to watch.

    2. Sinai to Canaan (September 2011)
      More about my 2011 trip to Palestine.

    3. Life on the Road (November 2011)
      Another short piece about my 2011 trip to Palestine.

    4. Poetry (January 2012)
      Just sharing a couple of poems I wrote to kick off the new year in 2012.

    5. Turkish Exile (September 2012)
      Due to a visa snafu (thanks, US Consulate in Istanbul), my boyfriend at the time (soon to be fiance/husband) got stuck in Turkey for several months. So I joined him there. A few days after I arrived, he proposed!

    6. On (Not) Bending the Arc of History (August 2011)
      An article by Drew Westen in the New York Times that eloquently explains why Obama’s presidency has been such a bitter disappointment to people like me who actually (perhaps foolishly) believed he would try to change things for the better in our nation.

    7. Letter to President Obama (August 2011)
      I sent this letter and a copy of my book to President Obama, for what it’s worth…

    8. Occupation as a Dead Mammoth (July 2011)
      An aptly vile metaphor.

    9. “A Gaza Diary” by Chris Hedges (October 2001)
      An almost unbelievable article by a former Middle East bureau chief for the New York Times about the Gaza Strip during the early part of the second Intifada.

    10. On ‘Cycles of Violence’ (March 2011)
      Why these cycles are easy to start and a research paper that examines who usually breaks periods of calm between Israelis and Palestinians (hint: it’s not the Palestinians)

      ftc2

